city of bones by cassandra clare

91Dz0CVeJyLTitle: City of Bones
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publication Date: 27 March 2007
Pages: 510 pages
Start Date: 1 April
Finish Date: 10 April
Rating: ★★★

This book centres around Clary Fray, a fifteen year old girl in New York. One day she is in Pandemonium club with her friend Simon when she witnesses a group of people  murdering someone. Clary is extremely confused and doesn’t have a clue of what’s going on, then she realises no-one else can see these people. Clary learns that she is a shadowhunter, destined to hunt demons and return them to their own realm, and that her mother has had Clary’s Sight from the shadow world hidden for her entire life.  When Clary’s mother goes missing and the only lead she has to find her is the Mortal Cup, Clary and the shadowhunters she met in Pandemonium have to fight until they find it to save Clary’s mother. Clary is thrown into the shadow world, filled with werewolves, faeries, warlocks and vampires, where she discovers secret after secret to do with her family and this unknown world.

I read this book for the first time in April 2016. I didn’t even mean to read it twice nearly 365 days apart. The first time I read this I loved it. I jumped straight into the second book without hesitation. But upon reading this for a second time, I’ve realised, this book just isn’t that great.

Reading this the second time around I thought that the previous book I read put me into a reading slump, but I looked back at my goodreads reading progress from 2016 and saw that it took me a long time to read the first time round too.

I think the first time I read this I was caught up in the hype, I gave it four stars and I think that was generous. This time I decided three stars was the right rating to go with. This book was good and I mostly enjoyed it and I will continue to reread the series, but it wasn’t amazing or anything.

It just took me so long to read, I would read a chapter and then just put it down and not pick it up until the next day. It wasn’t that I didn’t like the characters or that I felt like there wasn’t a plot, it just didn’t excite me enough to make me want to keep reading.

Clary wasn’t a spectacular character, I’m not in love with her but I don’t hate her. She isn’t a very memorable or relatable character for me if I’m being honest.

As a character, my favourite part about Jace is his witty and sarcastic lines. I love characters like him, they make a book funny and break up all the plot and tension.

The other characters in the novel are alright, there isn’t anyone that I fell in love with. There wasn’t anything memorable about any of them. But my favourite from what I do feel is probably Magnus or Alec.

The world building in this book is probably my favourite part of this, I think Cassandra Clare made a great world. This is the first book she wrote in the Shadowhunter Chronicles and I think she set it up well. You get just enough insight to make you want to get more invested in the world.

I mostly enjoy stories written in a first person perspective but for a third person writer, I really enjoy Cassandra Clare’s writing. It doesn’t overwhelm you with description but it keeps you informed on what’s happening, which is what I enjoy.

I enjoyed the plot of this more than the characters too. I felt like the journey Clary went through and all the twists and turns in this book were well planned and executed in a way that made you want to finish the chapter.

The main point I want to make is just that it was good. It wasn’t amazing and it wasn’t absolute rubbish. I didn’t want to speed read it to experience it all really fast but I didn’t not enjoy it enough to stop reading it all together. I will pick up the second book and reread it too, I’m intrigued to see if the entire series was overhyped for me or if it might just have been this one.

I would recommend picking it up and seeing if it is something that you enjoy, maybe you’ll get more invested in the story straight away. A lot of people really love this series and think it is amazing right from the start. I wish I enjoyed this more than I did, but it was only a three star read for me. I don’t know if I’ll be rereading this book again any time soon.

Let me know your opinion on this book and whether or not you agree with anything I’ve said! Hopefully I’ll have a review for the second book in the series up soon!

2 Replies to “city of bones by cassandra clare”

Leave a Reply

