dreamology by lucy keating

WceGgDUNlCA8RPHOz66AbHHs4RI12Vqg+OoBRGBrKx2plCphEkAr3aizNSRpuGHkIoDZcS4gLRs3LNNbucM2t1akSQ57d2QayYcYsAsr1FVQ5iDKyCBWtzAWMsmQ+7PKTitle: Dreamology
Author: Lucy Keating
Publication Date: 12 April 2016
Pages: 336 pages
Start Date: 13 April
Finish Date: 16 April
Rating: ★★★

Dreamology is about Alice Rowe, for as long as she can remember she has dreamt about Max. In her dreams, they have gone on crazy, wonderful adventures and fallen in love. Max is the boy of her dreams, and only her dreams, because he isn’t real. Then Alice is sitting in class on her first day at a new school and Max walks into the room. He is real. But he is not the Max of her dreams, in fact real-life Max is nothing like dream Max. Once Max starts to let his guard down, the pair realise their dreams are starting to become their reality. Impossible things are happening and the pair need to find a way to stop it before they can’t tell the difference between real life and dreaming.

I picked this book up around about September 2016 if I remember right, although I don’t have the best memory so don’t count on me being right! I put it down around 100 pages or so, but it was just because I was still in a huge reading slump and this just wasn’t the right book for me to get me out of it.

I wasn’t planning on reading this any time soon but I finished my last book and I just picked it up out of nowhere. It was an enjoyable read so I’m glad I read it.

I have recently decided that I really enjoy contemporary books that have a small science fiction twist to them. The other book I read recently that was like this is More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera (if you want another recommendation!!)

Alice was the main character, the book was written from her perspective, and I liked her. I didn’t find her anything special, it wasn’t overwhelmingly amazing reading her as a main character but I didn’t hate her. She had real-life problems that I think a lot of people could relate to, I just couldn’t.

However, I really liked Max! He was cute and exactly what you would expect to read in a YA contemporary romance. Dream Max was so cute, so was real-life Max, but dream Max just knocked it up a notch.

Max and Alice were cute together, I didn’t initially like the fact that Max kissed Alice and acted the way he did towards her when he was still with Celeste, but when that storyline finished up I began to ship the characters together more. I wanted them to end up together but they’re not an otp or anything.

The plot of this book was what initially drove me to picking this up and it was what kept me reading. Like I said before, I have a new found love for contemporary books with a sci-fi twist and I think I could pretty much read any book in this sub-genre. The idea of these two people dreaming of each other for as long as they can remember and then realising that each other are real. It just sounds so amazing and it definitely was. The plot was my favourite part of this novel. Characters are usually my favourite part of a novel and even when a plot is good, I usually end up not enjoying the story much, but there as just something different about this one.

I enjoyed the writing in this, there wasn’t too much description in this, which is something I like. I also really like the chapters in this book that told us about the dreams that Max and Alice were having. They were cute and funny and I really liked seeing them like they had no cares in the world and only thought of each other. I know it wasn’t real but it was so cute and I loved dream Max- like I said above.

The ending was slightly odd, I felt it was slightly cliché but in a way I didn’t really love. It’s like Max and Alice liked each other then they didn’t then they did again. I know it’s YA, but I don’t usually read books where characters go on and off of each other so often. I just got a bit bored at the end.

Anyway, this was a three star read for me, I originally had it down as a four stars but after thinking about it I put it down to three since the only thing I truly loved was the plot/genre. Hopefully my next review will be the second book in The Mortal Instruments!

One Reply to “dreamology by lucy keating”

Leave a Reply

