april 2017 wrap up

So in April 2017 I read five books, which I’m pretty happy with, I was kind of wishing I could have finished my current read too, but hopefully that’ll be done in a couple of days and you can see it in my May wrap up!

I also have a full review for every book I read this month, so I’ll link to each one down below! This is just a smaller version of every review I posted and just a quick overview of everything I read this month.


91Dz0CVeJyLTitle: City of Bones
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publication Date: 27 March 2007
Pages: 510 pages
Start Date: 1 April
Finish Date: 10 April
Rating: ★★★
Full review: city of bones by cassandra clare

This book took me quite a while to read this time around, I read it for the first time last year and gave it a higher rating then. I didn’t particularly love any of the characters, the plot was good though, I felt it was constructed in a way that made me want to finish the chapter. The world building was what really built this book up for me and that was the part I enjoyed the most.


businessman working on laptop  in black suit

Title: Him
Author: Elle Kennedy and Sarina Bowen
Publication Date: 28 July 2015
Pages: 361 pages
Start Date: 10 April
Finish Date: 11 April
Rating: ★★★★★
Full review: him by elle kennedy and sarina bowen

LOVED THIS STORY! I loved the characters and I loved the plot and I loved how real it all felt. I don’t read much new adult but this has made me want to pick up so much more of the genre! I started this on the night of 10 April and stayed up until 3am reading, which hasn’t happened to me in so long, I read this in 24 hours. This was easily my favourite book of the month and I recommend it a lot.


Cover+US+Sarina+Bowen+Elle+KennedyTitle: Us
Author: Elle Kennedy and Sarina Bowen
Publication Date: 8 March 2016
Pages: 328 pages
Start Date: 11 April
Finish Date: 11 April
Rating: ★★★★★
Full review: us by elle kennedy and sarina bowen

This series is just so good. I read this book in one sitting, I loved it just as much as the first book, so it’s definitely a joint first place for favourite of the month. I loved how this book had a separate storyline from the first book. I would honestly reread them now, even though it hasn’t even been a month since I finished it. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!


WceGgDUNlCA8RPHOz66AbHHs4RI12Vqg+OoBRGBrKx2plCphEkAr3aizNSRpuGHkIoDZcS4gLRs3LNNbucM2t1akSQ57d2QayYcYsAsr1FVQ5iDKyCBWtzAWMsmQ+7PKTitle: Dreamology
Author: Lucy Keating
Publication Date: 12 April 2016
Pages: 336 pages
Start Date: 13 April
Finish Date: 16 April
Rating: ★★★
Full review: dreamology by lucy keating

The plot of this book was what initially drove me to picking this up and it was what kept me reading. It is a contemporary novel with a sci-fi twist, which is definitely a favourite subgenre of mine! The characters weren’t anything spectacular, although I did really like Max. I picked it up in September 2016 but put it down because I just wasn’t in the mood, I just picked this up in April out of nowhere. It was good but nothing I would reread in the near future. Beautiful cover though, would definitely thank the designer for that!


81I73aZsCBLTitle: City of Ashes
Author: Cassandra Clare
Publication Date: 25 March 2008
Pages: 416 pages
Start Date: 16 April
Finish Date: 25 April
Rating: ★★★★
Full review: city of ashes by cassandra clare

This was also a reread for me, I read it a year ago and the hype really affected my experience. I just didn’t enjoy it as much the second time around. It dropped a star from the last reading. The only reason it got a four-star and not a five-star rating is because the ending really bumped it up for me. This, just like City of Bones, just took me so long to read and I just got bored to be honest.


So that’s all I read this month. It was a pretty decent reading month, nothing below three-stars but the two Mortal Instruments books both dropped a star from the rating since I first read it so I was slightly let down. Here’s to a better May reading month!

Leave a Reply

