p.s. i like you by kasie west

psilikeyou_finalcvrTitle: P.S. I Like You
Author: Kasie West
Publication Date: 26 July 2016
Pages: 330 pages
Start Date: 21 May
Finish Date: 22 May
Rating: ★★★★★

P.S. I Like You is about a girl named Lily, who writes a song lyric on her Chemistry desk when she is bored only to find out the next day that someone has carried on the lyrics, and written her a message. Lily and her pen pal start to write each other notes everyday, recommending music and telling each other secrets. Soon, Lily starts to have feelings towards her pen pal but is scared to find out who it is behind the letters.

So I have been in a bit of a reading slump recently, not a huge one because I’ve still been reading but I’ve just not been in the mood to read much. This book is something that I love to read in moods like this. I think it would suit anyone who loves an easy read or just loves contemporary in general.

I love the plot, it is so simple and yet somehow doesn’t get boring at any point. Although it was slightly predictable and I kind of knew who the secret pen pal was from the beginning, this didn’t dull my enjoyment. Although, it would have been nice to have been surprised.

This book features one of my favourite tropes, I can’t say what it is for spoilers but it is just one of my favourites. If you have read this then you’ll know what I mean. Hopefully.

Reading books over a day or two is always something that makes me feel accomplished, not only do I feel like I could read forever, but I know I have really enjoyed a book.

The characters in this book weren’t overwhelmingly memorable but when I was actually reading the book I did enjoy them. The main character wasn’t my favourite, but they never usually are when I read a story. I think that because I’m not particuarly musical I didn’t connect to any of the characters and their love for music.

I know this review hasn’t seemed exceptionally positive or anything, but to what may be your surprise, this has made its way on to my favourites shelf on goodreads. It was a simple YA contemporary with cute characters and a cute romance with one of my favourite tropes, and I will 100% be checking out all of Kasie West’s other works.

Leave a Reply

