rock by anyta sunday

23153351Title: rock
Author: Anyta Sunday
Publication Date: 1 October 2014
Pages: 251 pages
Start Date: 5 June
Finish Date: 6 June
Rating: ★★★★

rock by Anyta Sunday was about Cooper and Jace. Cooper’s parents split up at the start of the book and his dad moves in with Jace’s mum, who he had been seeing. This follows Jace and Cooper’s relationship over a 12 year period and how they deal with their feelings for each other, since they’re technically step brothers.

When I picked this up, I had no idea what I was in the mood to read. This was exactly what I wanted. I wanted an easy-to-read, m/m contemporary.

I read this in under 24 hours, I loved just how quick it was to get through. It was almost addicting. I was sitting in class reading this! I enjoyed the writing in this story and for a new-adult I think it was well done. I enjoyed the characters and the plot and it was all really good.

I have no interest in rocks or geology of any sorts. But for some reason, that aspect to this book not only made it unique but added something extra and made me feel more connected to the characters.

I enjoy reading stories that push the boundaries a little. This was obviously controversial, and I knew that going in, since the main relationship was between two step brothers. But it was stepbrothers, and that didn’t bother me. They’re not actually related, so it wasn’t a big deal. But then, later on in the story, they come to think they may actually be brothers but they are too scared to open the results of the DNA test Jace ordered.

Basically, at the end of the book you never find out if they are related or not. This is why I knocked this book off a star. I just didn’t like the ending. The entire time I read this I was thinking that they weren’t actually brothers because why would an author make me ship the characters only to reveal it as incest? But in the end the characters decide it doesn’t matter to them. It’s a shame it matters to me..

I don’t want to read about incest and it would have just been so easy for the author to just say they weren’t related rather than making me feel uneasy about wanting the two characters to be together. I think not answering the question basically says that they are related and considering the indications in the book, it is a pretty high chance. Cooper’s mum saying that Jace looked like someone but not saying who, hinted at him looking like Cooper’s dad to me. Then when Jace’s mum was sick and she got caught out in the lie, it just seems too weird to me. I just don’t understand how being related doesn’t matter to both Cooper and Jace, because personally, it would sure as hell matter to me.

I know a lot of people had issues with the family dynamic as a whole, with what Cooper’s dad did and how it was handled, I didn’t personally feel too invested in that part of the story since it was only relevant at the beginning and I didn’t particularly love or hate the guy.

Anyway, if there hadn’t been implied incest, this would have been a 5/5 stars for me. I really enjoyed the story but a star had to be taken off for the uneasy feeling I had when i finished the book and my main question hadn’t been answered.

Leave a Reply

