geekerella by ashley poston

9781594749476Title: Geekerella
Author: Ashley Poston
Publication Date: 4 April 2017
Pages: 320 pages
Start Date: 6 June
Finish Date: 19 June
Rating: ★★

Geekerella is about Danielle (Elle) Wittimer, her mum and dad have both passed away and she is living with her evil step-mother and step-sisters. Before her dad passed away, he organised a fan convention called ExcelsiCon. Elle wants to go this year and enter the cosplay competition as her favourite character from her favourite tv show, Starfield. Her beloved tv show is being remade into a movie, and the main character is being played by Darien Freeman. Elle is not happy about this, because Darien is just in it for the money.. or so she thinks. Turns out Darien is just as big of a fan of the original tv series as Elle. Oh, and he’s judging the cosplay competitions she’s entering.

So if you don’t know by the title or the first sentence of the synopsis there, Geekerella is a fandom inspired retelling of the fairytale Cinderella. This is the first retelling I’ve ever read and to be honest, it didn’t really overwhelm me in any way. I don’t think this is because of the retelling parts though. I find the Cinderella inspired moments to be heavy in the storyline, they’re also very cheesy, but what else would you expect from a young-adult contemporary based off of Cinderella?

I gave this two stars. Throughout the entire novel I was just waiting for something to happen. I think because from the beginning of the novel we knew everything going on, and we were just waiting for the characters to figure it all out, I just got bored. I don’t care about the characters finding out something I already know, I want to be the one that’s surprised. The plot just didn’t interest me. I was so excited because it sounded so awesome but I WAS JUST SO BORED.

None of the characters were that amazing or developed in my opinion. The friendship between Sage and Elle was kind of cute but nothing that really made me feel much.

I don’t really have much to say about this to be honest. The writing was average, the characters were average and the plot was less than average. I was waiting for this to get good and it just never did.

So if all of that didn’t make it obvious that I didn’t enjoy this book, the fact that it took me nearly TWO WEEKS to read might let you know!! This book is only just over 300 pages and I took far too long to read a book that size. I’ve read books bigger than this in one sitting.

The only thing that boosted this to a two stars was the fact that it was a Cinderella retelling. I don’t recommend this, but I’m pretty sure this is an unpopular opinion and most people that read this really enjoyed it. So check out some other reviews and you might agree with them more!

Leave a Reply

