march 2017 wrap up

So March was a kind of weird month for reading this month. There were some books that I just fell in love with and there were some I just really didn’t enjoy.


319d5dc4905a5fecf26008be888f55c8Title: Divergent
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: 25 April 2011
Pages: 487 pages
Start Date: 27 February
Finish Date: 4 March
Rating: ★★★★★

The first book I dove into this month was Divergent by Veronica Roth. I read this series when it was releasing so it’s been a while since I experienced the story and characters. Whilst I remembered the general plot I had completely forgot about my emotions towards the novel.

The main thing I noticed when I was rereading this is that I seemed to let other people’s opinions of this book affect how much I loved this story. I let their opinions on the characters affect how I felt about them. I fell in love with Tobias and Tris and their relationship together. I also really enjoyed the plot of this book and I loved diving back into this story.


816jODGyYmLTitle: Insurgent
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: 1 May 2012
Pages: 525 pages
Start Date: 4 March
Finish Date: 7 March
Rating: ★★★★

I didn’t love this book quite as much as Divergent, which is obvious by the drop of one star from the rating. The main reason for this being that I just loved the initiation from the first book so much.

I loved Peter’s one-off lines, he is the type of character I always just fall in love with. There was also a couple of times whilst I was reading where I just didn’t appreciate some of the things Tobias said to Tris.


dcc6749662cdcf8f7aad4c6198c3f5de2970d076f79246653f38af8d8561f7f3Title: Allegiant
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: 22 October 2013
Pages: 526 pages
Start Date: 10 February
Finish Date: 23 March
Rating: ★★★

Everyone’s main issue with this book is the ending, and I understand where people are coming from. Whilst I didn’t like the ending, it wasn’t because I think it was a stupid thing to do. I think it was a bold move from Veronica Roth. I just hated Caleb so much that what Tris did for him irritated me. But that is what a book is meant to do, it’s meant to make you feel something.

I loved the plot at the beginning, seeing everyone leaving the Bureau and adjusting to the world. But this book just took me far too long to read and all around, whilst I enjoyed this book, I just didn’t enjoy it too much.


four-short-story-the-transfer-cover-630Title: The Transfer
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: 3 September 2013
Pages: 55 pages
Start Date: 23 March
Finish Date: 24 March
Rating: ★★★★★

I read this in one sitting, but it was around midnight so it is technically over two days. I loved seeing Four as 16 years old. Him accepting his new name at the end was so cute as well.


The_Initiate_coverTitle: The Initiate
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: 8 July 2014
Pages: 40 pages
Start Date: 24 March
Finish Date: 24 March
Rating: ★★★★

I loved reading from Four’s point of  view, he is definitely my favourite character of the series. Since it was so short, there isn’t really too much to say about it to be honest. I did really enjoy it though!


y648Title: The Son
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: 8 July 2014
Pages: 65 pages
Start Date: 24 March
Finish Date: 24 March
Rating: ★★

I don’t really feel like much happened in this, it didn’t add much to my experience with Four as a character or as the series as a whole. I was just pretty bored.


18080923Title: The Traitor
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: 8 July 2014
Pages: 48 pages
Start Date: 24 March
Finish Date: 24 March
Rating: ★★★

It was cute, just not necessary. I don’t think it added anything to Four as a character, I could have gone without reading it. I wouldn’t have felt like I missed anything.


24dhr95Title: Free Four: Tobias tells the Divergent story
Author: Veronica Roth
Publication Date: 23 April 2012
Pages: 43 pages
Start Date: 26 March
Finish Date: 26 March
Rating: ★★★★★

I really love reading some of my favourite scenes in other character’s povs. This was no different, I loved seeing this scene from Four’s perspective. I loved seeing when he first met Tris.


71VfOKSGUjLTitle: The Hate U Give
Author: Angie Thomas
Publication Date: 28 February 2017
Pages: 464 pages
Start Date: 26 March
Finish Date: 28 March
Rating: ★★★★★

OH MY GOD. I LOVED THIS SO MUCH. This was definitely one of my favourite reads ever. This was such an honest and beautiful story based on the black lives matter movement. I loved Starr, and her family (especially Seven and Mav!!) The relationships between the family in this were so amazing too. I hope everyone reads this! It’s so important! Definitely my favourite book of the month.


coverTitle: The Sun Is Also A Star
Author: Nicola Yoon
Publication Date: 1 November 2016
Pages: 348 pages
Start Date: 28 March
Finish Date: 30 March
Rating: ★★★

This was definitely one of the most confusing books I have ever read. Not in the sense that I didn’t understand the plot. My enjoyment was just SO low at the beginning of this story, but I did like the ending. I didn’t like the alternating povs throughout, and I didn’t really enjoy any point of view that wasn’t Natasha or Daniel.

Main warning: INSTALOVE. SO MUCH INSTALOVE. I don’t think I have ever read a case of instalove like this. I doubt I’ll read it again any time soon, but the ending was really emotional and was the only reason this wasn’t a two star read.


gallery-1473414254-florabankscoverreveal123Title: The One Memory Of Flora Banks
Author: Emily Barr
Publication Date: 12 January 2017
Pages: 303 pages
Start Date: 30 March
Finish Date: 31 March
Rating: ★

I hated this book. Like a lot. It was repetitive (which I knew going into a novel about a main character with anterograde amnesia, but COME ON! SO MUCH REPETITION!!). It just felt like every second page I was reading about Flora’s name, age and the fact the only relevant memory she had was kissing a boy on a beach.

Which brings me on to the totally unbelievable plot. The situation Flora was in, with all of the lying to everyone, was unrealistic. Someone’s whose memory resets every few hours would not remember to keep up with their lies so much, even if it was written down in some notebook.

I also didn’t like the ending. I was bored. And I just did not enjoy reading this. I’m honestly surprised I even finished it.


So all in all, I had a pretty up and down reading month. I know some people don’t put each individual novella into a rating of their own, but as you can see I really enjoyed some of these and really didn’t enjoy others and I felt it was unfair to average it out.

By the way, The One Memory Of Flora Banks has put me into the biggest reading slump ever and it is currently taking me so long to read my current book.

I hope you liked my first post! Feel free to comment your opinions on any of the books I read this month. Let me know how you feel about the lay out of this too! They’re just mini reviews, I’ll hopefully start doing more in-depth reviews on individual books from now on!

Leave a comment